Review of “The Hunt (Devil’s Isle #3)” by Chloe Neill

A review by Amanda.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

This book may contain spoilers from the previous books.

Claire is on the run from Containment, since she revealed her magic ability during the fight against Ezekiel and his followers. Along with her Para friend, Moses, she does what she can to help Paras and Sensitives while remaining hidden and working with Delta. Her heart is still broken from having to leave the Royal Mercantile in the hands of her best friend Tadji, as well as Liam running away after the battle. Liam took his grandmother, Eleanor, and escaped after being hit with both Claire’s and Ezekiel’s magic. He’s been off the grid and out of contact for weeks, leaving Claire to worry about his safety and the state of their relationship. When Liam’s brother shows up unexpectedly with bad news, Claire has to decide if she should respect Liam’s apparent wishes and stay away, or go with Gavin and Malachi to warn him.

An agent of Containment with a well-known beef against Liam is murdered, signs point to Liam as the culprit. He’s definitely being set up, but by whom, and why? The team’s investigation to clear Liam’s name gets complicated with the addition of an ex-lover, a deadly illness, and new information about Claire’s past.

The third Devil’s Isle book is the best yet, having finally found its footing. The plot digs deeper, and the focus on fewer characters leads to more depth for each. Claire shines in this story, overcoming several obstacles with her trademark reckless bravery. She shows a great amount of heart and feels more like a real, fleshed out person. The plot takes several unexpected turns and keeps readers intrigued until the last page. Several questions are answered, while more arise, leaving readers wanting more. There is still plenty of room for growth and development in both characters and plot. I am excited to find out what happens next!

The Hunt will be released on September 26th, 2017.

My rating: 4/5 stars.

We may receive a commission if you purchase through links in this post. Read our full disclosure here.

Advertisements

Review: “The Sight (Devil’s Isle #2)” by Chloe Neill

A review by Amanda.

This review may contain spoilers for book one, The Veil. I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Book two picks up a few weeks after the events of book one. Claire has been dividing her time between running the Royal Mercantile, learning the bounty hunter trade with Liam, and getting lessons in using her magic from Malachi. The tension between Liam and Claire is heavy since Liam has made it clear that his honor won’t allow him to be with her romantically; if she is discovered as a Sensitive he would be the one to turn her in to live on Devil’s Isle, which would break both of their hearts. Claire’s single-minded goal of staying busy to keep her mind off of her non-existent love life gets a boost when someone starts murdering Paras without care for human casualties.

A magic-hating human has developed a following. Calling themselves Reveillon, this cultish group blames magic, Paras, and Sensitives for the Zone’s troubles. Their leader has convinced them that the answer to all of their problems is to eradicate all traces of magic by any means necessary. The violence escalates even further and Claire, alongside her friends and allies, must act quickly to save those who have been targeted by Reveillon.
The Sight moves at a slightly faster pace than the previous book and makes for a quick read. The plot is a bit predictable, but it still manages to be interesting. While Claire still does not stand out amongst all of the urban fantasy heroines (see my review of The Veil), the supporting characters gain more depth. The romantic tension kicks up a notch and things get nice and steamy. Claire continues to hold her own against whatever life throws at her, with one or two exceptions. I imagine book three, The Hunt, will challenge her ability to roll with the punches. This series is great for those readers looking for a fun, quick read, with a classic urban fantasy feel. Fans of Patricia Briggs’ Alpha and Omega series, Kim Harrison’s Peri Reed books, and Charlaine Harris’s Aurora Teagarden series will likely enjoy these books. Make sure to pick up book one, The Veil, and look for book three, The Hunt, to be released on September 26th.

My rating: 3.5/5 stars.

We may receive a commission if you purchase through links in this post. Read our full disclosure here.

Review: “The Veil (Devil’s Isle #1)” by Chloe Neill

A review by Amanda.

Claire Connolly lives in New Orleans, but it is not the New Orleans that we are familiar with. Years ago, a veil between worlds was forced open and magic-using beings from a parallel world, called Paranormals or Paras, came through to conquer Earth. A nasty war was fought and humans won, barely. New Orleans is still recovering from the damage and military forces are in charge. There is very little contact with anyone outside of the containment areas. Paras that survived the battles have been sent to live in Devil’s Isle, a heavily guarded community, for the safety of humans. Some humans were affected by the magic that came through the veil, gaining paranormal abilities that they didn’t have before. Called Sensitives, these people are regarded with suspicion and are also sent to live in Devil’s Isle, whether they want to or not. This is partly due to prejudices against any magic users, but also because Sensitives eventually become wraiths – frightening, zombie-like creatures who attack humans without mercy.

Claire has managed to keep her family’s antique store running by turning it into a general store. She has no family left but has close friends and a tight knit community that she is very connected to. Her recent discovery that she is a Sensitive has taken her by surprise and now she has to keep a huge secret from those closest to her. An unexpected encounter with wraiths brings her to the attention of bounty hunter Liam Quinn, whose motives are unclear. Will he spill her secret, or help her keep it? Equally important, can Claire avoid the fate that befalls all Sensitives?

This is the first book in a new series from Chloe Neill, author of the Chicagoland Vampires series. Claire is a nice character, but fairly typical. As of this first book, there is little about her that stands out from other heroines in the same genre. She loves her friends, misses her father, and feels a sense of responsibility to her community. Her biggest fear is turning into a wraith, followed closely by being discovered as a Sensitive and relocated to Devil’s Isle. When Liam offers to help her, she has to decide if he can be trusted. Her attraction to him certainly complicates things, but that takes a backseat to the danger they quickly find themselves in.

The description of a post-war New Orleans is stark and wonderfully done. Prejudice is a prevalent theme, well explored and thought-provoking. The world-building and magical concepts are where the book stands out, and what makes it worth reading. There is a lovely cast of supporting characters, all of whom I hope to meet again. Claire and Liam both have room to develop, especially since this is the first book.  I will read the next book, The Sight, with a hope that they will continue to grow into their own.

My rating: 3.5/5 stars.

We may receive a commission if you purchase through links in this post. Read our full disclosure here.